So in the course of doing something else entirely last night, I happened upon a large number of large mushrooms in my driveway. I apologize for not taking pictures of them, I was very excited. I immediately chopped them up and threw them in a pot.

I kinda like picking mushrooms (I know, it’s weird, but I do), but there aren’t many edible ones around here, which has always made it less fun. But these were so luscious, and had such a lovely silver shine on them, they had to be good for something! So I dyed yarn with them.

I’ve never dyed with fungi before, and I had no idea what these were or what colour I might get, but I had to try. And to my delight, I got a colour! Well, sort of. It’s a grey. But it’s a really nice grey, which I like way better than the yellows and browns that grow naturally in plant matter around here. Grey I can use!

So. Rando mushroom, iron mordant, pretty grey. If I get any more of these ‘shrooms, I will take a picture, promise. They’re pretty distinctive.

Wool on the left, and a bit of silk on the right. The silk has a lovely blue tone to it! There’s too much light in this pic. 😦 I’ll take a better one when they’re dry.

<later>

That up there is the silk, and here is the wool: