I’ve cut and am hemming a partlet. Partlets are lots more than just a scarf at the neck. Going through paintings I found three or four cut variations and about four collar variations as well, which if you could do math like I can’t means x number of possible styles, just by varying the cut – then they’re decorated in unique ways, which makes the possibilities almost endless.

In Venice they are usually sheer fabric or net; although I did find a couple of solid ones, it clearly wasn’t the norm. Lots or stripes or checks, which usually had embroidery or lace or pearls or all of the above over top. Basically a really good, relatively quick hand project where you can show off your creativity, and then use it to change up and finish off an outfit. Also you can afford to use really nice expensive fabric because they’re small, yet they’re not so small (especially framed by huge Venetian necklines) that you can really showcase your embroidery or whatever.

They almost all have a standing collar, although sometimes it’s just a tiny one at the back. Usually the fabric for the collar seems to be gathered and stitched, which would make it stiffer and more prone to support whatever lace or ruffle one puts on it. It looks like mostly the collar itself would not need to be starched, although the lace in some cases would be. That would also be more comfortable than a stiff, starched ring around the back of one’s neck!

I’m using the shawl part of a linen sari for my base fabric, and I’m going to <sigh> embroider over it. Not an embroidery fan, me, nor am I very good at it, but it’ll be a simple pattern. I found this pic, which has stars all over it:

The symbol of my Crucible award in the SCA is a seven-pointed star, so I’m going to use that. But because I like sewing and lace better than embroidery, it will also have a little collar and some lace.