So we have this broody hen.  I don’t know why they keep deciding that November/December is a great time to try and raise chicks, but as they keep telling me, what do I know about being a hen?  Nothing.  Nothing at all.

Yesterday I had some stuff to do in Chatham, and unexpectedly wound up working in the gallery for a couple of hours because no one showed up to open, and so Raven was stuck looking after the fluffies.  Which is fine.  Granted, he does sometimes call me and say things like “they look hungry, should I feed them?”  but that is ok, I just say “Yes” and run around checking everything when I get home.

So yesterday afternoon when I got home, Raven reported that broody hen had not been on her nest, because Cthulha Hen (When she is sitting on eggs she is very fierce and scary) wanted to lay an egg in that box and kicked her out.  This has happened before, they seem to have an arrangement, so fine.  Except Cthulha wasn’t in the box either.   Nobody much was going in the coop.  I went in to see what was up, and found – a kitten.  An extremely scruffy, burr-covered skinny kitten, with a very recently inflicted wound on its face in which my chickens are definitely implicated.  If someone grabbed the fur on the face of a skinny kitten in their beak and pulled really hard, it might sort of scalp the nose of the kitten in just this way.

chicktten

When we brought it in, fed it stew and combed all the burrs out of its fur, the kitten proved to be a shaggy, extremely affectionate and really very extremely vocal female.  With a million toes.  She’s got extra toes on three paws, and two extra toes on the fourth.  I know that is a common mutation, but WOW this cat has big feet.  Obviously, cats are conducting their own breeding programs to develop thumbs so that humans will no longer be able to lord it over them with that advantage.

Her markings are quite similar to Velcro’s, but she has more black on her back and tail, and her face is very different in shape.  And Velcro wants nothing at all to do with her.  Nothing.  VelcroCat will put up with hens, chicks, geese, dogs, bunnies, and for all I know pigs in the parlor, but she draws the line at kittens.  Firmly.

So the kitten is on the porch.  I treated her nose, lent her a sweater Velcro wasn’t using right now, and she found the dog cat house on her own.

safe

Imagine it with really loud purring.

CK is coming over later to meet the kitten, and it is probably going to wind up living at her place as long as her cats can deal with that.  If not, we have a porch/yard kitten.

