So today was my birthday. Ha! I have forestalled your birthday wishes by making it TOO LATE!

I like birthdays. I don’t know why. I don’t especially like birthday parties, or making people say “Happy birthday”. Raven and I don’t usually do anything to celebrate. (When we got married he promised to remember either or anniversary or my birthday, but not both. He let me pick. I picked our anniversary, and now usually he remembers both, and I forget both. This year I remembered the anniversary at least, I’ll let you know in a month if I’m two for two!) Right now he isn’t even here – he had to go into Windsor to get straw, and the alignment fixed on the truck, and help some friends with plumbing. (Good thing it isn’t his birthday!)

I got a present, though. Raven found an old blue pedal-brake bicycle by the side of the road and brought it home for me. It’s in good shape. I’m going to put Hello Kitty stickers on it, and a basket.

And I made a cake for the KBR party, which is very near both our anniversary and my birthday, so it can be whatever party I want it to be:

Yes, it’s a dagger. This is our symbolic Bastard Rooster – Patches (the potential victim for this year) is still running around using up his chances.

It is Wednesday, which is my favorite day of the week, and I’m having an odd-numbered year, which are my favorite also. And for a while I thought some more things were falling off the house, but it was only the first leaves of the season, which means things are moving towards autumnal, and autumn is my favorite time of the year.

All in all, despite the inconvenient absence of the love of my life, it’s been a darned good day!

