If I were to play “flash your stash” right now, it would look a lot like this:

highgate.jpg

times every spare corner of my house.

So yesterday I decided it was time to settle down to some serious wool prep. The vast majority of the wool tucked here and there is washed, some of it is even dyed, but I’ve not found myself drawn to doing the whole carding/combing thing. It’s a necessity, but not exactly “fun”, and so to date I’ve been just doing it as necessary- card enough to spin a bobbin or two (still only have one bobbin, thank goodness for yarn winders) and then gratefully move to the ever-so-much-more-fun spinning part.

But yesterday I managed to find a ‘groove’, and worked my way through what looks like a lot (until you realize it isn’t) of wool. I’m still not disciplined about doing all of anything, but I did a bunch:

suffolk-top.jpg

3oz Suffolk combed top

suffolk-roving.jpg

1.5 oz Suffolk roving

candycane.jpg

1oz Suffolk/butt fleece blend (whatever that means) “candy cane”. This is a start on Stalkermom’s xmas present. I have no reservations about saying that here, because she will probably read it, which is a good thing. History teaches us that you can’t safely surprise my mom with a gift. If I tried to keep this a secret, one week before xmas she would very unexpectedly fall in love with some roving in a similar colourway, learn to spin, and on xmas day when I gave her the yarn she would already be wearing socks made out of it. I’m telling you, it’s creepy. She doesn’t do it on purpose, it’s just this eerie power she has. She can sometimes tell what’s in a wrapped box from across the room, too. Moving on:

grassstain.jpg

2.5 oz Suffolk roving, “grass stain”. (See, I’m trying to practice naming colorways, because I really admire those people who can come up with interesting and creative names for their yarns. So far I seem to be stuck in the ‘bloody obvious’ category.)

I also carded another bobbin’s worth of butt fleece for the Kilpatrick aran, which I have not progressed on at all due to a)not having spun any more yarn for it, b) working on socks and the other Kilpatrick aran, and c) oh yeah, I made some clogs for my mother-in-law:

clogs1.jpg

I like this pattern. I haven’t managed to think of a reason I need several pairs yet, so I’m just making them for other people.

I also tried to spin some thick n’ thin. I’m not by any stretch of the imagination a brilliant spinner, but I’ve been working on the whole thin-and-even thing, and I’ve got my rhythm finally plying on the wheel (my wheel is picky about plying) without overtwist, and I have obviously been producing knittable yarn (because I’ve been knitting with it) so I thought maybe it was time to practice doing it “wrong”. Because I know once you can do thin and even singles, it’s supposed to be hard to go back to thick and UNeven ones. Which it is. So I went and re-read PippiKneeSocks’s article in Knitty about thick and thin.

She recommends using top, which I must say, having not done so, is a very good idea. But the only combed top I had, prior to and causally associated with my combing the suffolk last night, was some nice Merino that Emily gave me (no, I haven’t used it yet, it’s too nice and I haven’t decided what to dye it) and silk. I didn’t want to waste those on an experiment that was inevitably going to be at least a partial failure; so, in keeping with my tendency to do things the hard way, I used some of the butt fleece. Here is my first somewhat pathetic attempt:

xmas_folly.jpg

I’m calling it “Christmas Folly”. (I’m kind of proud of that one!) It was sort of fun, and I will likely do it again – although I’m not sure what to do with it. Thick and thin is one of those yarns that I really enjoy looking at, but can’t imagine what I would use it for. Yes, I know, scarves and collars and cuffs. But I don’t really knit anything like that… maybe if it sits around long enough I’ll think of something. Maybe I’ll just tie it to my head.

